Featured post

Skyglow and faith

There are some nights when for whatever reason we can't see the stars from where we are, but that doesn't make us doubt whether or...

Wednesday, 11 April 2018

"Literally" my pet peeve

My pet peeve is when people use the word "literally" when they mean "figuratively".
     For example: "I literally DIED."
     Unless you literally died and then were brought back to life, please don't put the word "literally" before the hyperbole.
     It isn't always necessary to state when a person is using figurative language, but "literally" is a specific word I don't think should be used to emphasize a non-literal statement. Otherwise, why word do we have for "literally"? "Literally literally"?
      This is too much...

No comments:

Post a Comment